We are friends, colleagues, fathers and sons that work in synergy to bring nature, food, wine, culture and sustainability together into one magical place.
At the cross of the ridge road that connects Palaia, Montefoscoli and Tojano, on the top of a tuffaceous hill, lie the grounds of the church of “San Giorgio a Scandiccio”.
The estate includes the romanic church, the main villa and the old barn, surrounded by forty hectares, almost 99 acres, of olive trees, oleander and fruit trees in the heart of the Valdera.
Immersed in the quiet of the valley, the Podere boasts a stunning view of the surrounding hills and a fascinating history.
Due to its strategic position, San Giorgio’s estate has been involved in the historical rivalry between Pisa and Florence. The ownership has been disputed for the entire 1400, to end up officially into the assets of Monastero di Santa Brigida of Pian di Ripoli, known as “al Paradiso”, literally “in Paradise”.
The Podere was a precious possession, formed by 12 plots of farmed land, with olive groves, orchards and vineyards, that provided the Monastery with a conspicuous income.
Around the middle of the 1700s, the Monastery was attached to the Bonifazio hospital, first, and later to the Regio di Santa Maria Nuova of Florence’s one. We are unsure about the fate of San Giorgio until 1822, when the estate is in the hands of Lorenzo Sanetti of Palaia, important landowner of Valdera.
Since then, the Podere changes hands several times, until 1989 when the current owners, the Palummo brothers,bought the estate.
Thanks to the restoration of the villa and the barn, Podere found new life as a country guesthouse and Agriturismo. In 1995 it opened to the public, offering the chance of spending quality time in the quiet and nature of Valdera.
Since its revamping, the estate has been managed by the two brothers, helped by trusted associates, and later on by Paolo’s son, Andrea, that from March 2017 leads the business.